Hosted at

35th International Conference
on Massive Storage Systems
and Technology (MSST 2019)
May 20 — 24, 2019

Sponsored by Santa Clara University,
School of Engineering

Since the conference was founded, in 1974, by the leading national laboratories, MSST has been a venue for massive-scale storage system designers and implementers, storage architects, researchers, and vendors to share best practices and discuss building and securing the world's largest storage systems for high-performance computing, web-scale systems, and enterprises.

Hosted at
Santa Clara University
Santa Clara, CA

Invited Track Keynote Speaker

Dr. Mark Kryder, Carnegie Mellon University

Mark Kryder
Mark H. Kryder is University Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. Prior to joining CMU in 1978, he was a Post Doctoral Research Fellow at Caltech (1969-1971) Visiting Scientist at the University Regensburg (1971-1973) and a Research Staff Member and Manager at the IBM T. J. Watson Research Center (1973-1978). From 1998 to 2007, he was Senior Vice President of Research and Chief Technology Officer at Seagate Technology. His research has been centered on high-density magnetic data storage.

Mark H. Kryder is an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE). He was twice selected as a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Magnetics Society, and has been awarded the IEEE Magnetics Society Achievement Award, the IEEE Reynold B. Johnson Information Storage Systems Award, the IEEE Third Millennium Medal, the American Institute of Physics George E. Pake Prize, the public service medal(Pingat Bakti Masyarakat) from the President of Singapore in their 2007 National Day Awards and the 2014 Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering for his leadership in introducing perpendicular recording into disk drives. Kryder holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University and a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Physics from the California Technology Institue of Technology.

Page Updated August 22, 2021